Event Information

About the Racing Series

Verizon IndyCar Series

The Verizon IndyCar Series is the premier open-wheel racing series in North America. The series offers one of the most diverse and challenging schedules in motorsports with races held on superspeedway ovals, short ovals, permanent road courses and temporary street circuits. Chevrolet and Honda are the engine manufacturers that compete in the 2017 Verizon IndyCar Series, and each manufacturer has utilized distinctive chassis aero kit for their supplied teams since 2015.

The series features such star drivers as Helio Castroneves, Scott Dixon, Tony Kanaan, James Hinchcliffe, Josef Newgarden, Graham Rahal, Ryan Hunter-Reay, Will Power and Alexander Rossi. Belle Isle will host the only doubleheader race weekend in 2017, with two full points-paying championship races on back-to-back days in the Chevrolet Dual in Detroit. To learn more, visit www.indycar.com.

The IMSA WeatherTech SportsCar Championship
TUDOR United Sports Car Championship

Championship is North America’s premiere sports car endurance racing series. Competitors from across the globe compete for honors at some of the most historic and iconic race tracks in North America. The series features a total of four classes: Prototype (P), Prototype Challenge (PC), GT Le Mans (GTLM), and GT Daytona (GTD) racing at the same time at most races, driven by many of the world's best road racers. The Chevrolet Sports Car Classic on Belle Isle will include the P, PC and GTD classes.

The P class features the fastest and most technologically advanced cars in North America. The mix of Daytona Prototype international (DPi) and LM P2 cars featured in this class are specifically designed and engineered for the race track. While unique in appearance, the technology being developed in the Prototype category is relevant and directly tied to manufacturers’ R&D initiatives.

The PC class is a spec class featuring open-cockpit race cars and technology such as a carbon fiber chassis, carbon ceramic brakes and a sequential gearbox. The PC class will complete its final season of WeatherTech Championship competition in 2017.

The GTD cars are enhanced by technology and utilize the global FIA GT3 technical specifications. The GTD class consists of cars from leading manufacturers such as Acura, Audi, BMW, Ferrari, Lamborghini, Lexus, Mercedes and Porsche.

The 12-race 2017 WeatherTech Championship schedule is highlighted by endurance races such as the around-the-clock season-opening Rolex 24 At Daytona, the Mobil 1 Twelve Hours of Sebring Fueled by Fresh from Florida and the 10-hour Petit Le Mans at Road Atlanta. To learn more, visit www.imsa.com.

How to Follow IMSA On-Track Action

Classes & Colors

Two styles of cars - Prototype and GT
Two classes in each - Pro and Pro-Am

A Pro class is designated by RED markings on the number panel, mirrors, windscreen banner, rear wing end plate and leader light.

A Pro-Am class is designated by GREEN markings on the number panel, mirrors, windscreen banner, rear win end plate and leader light.

A Pro class is designated by RED markings on the number panel, mirrors, windscreen banner, rear wing end plate and leader light.

A Pro-Am class is designated by GREEN markings on the number panel, mirrors, windscreen banner, rear win end plate and leader light.

SPEED Energy Stadium Super Trucks
SPEED Energy Stadium SUPER Trucks

SPEED Energy Stadium Super Trucks (SST) features identically prepared high-horsepower trucks designed to take flight. Producing 600 horsepower and generating speeds upwards of 130 miles per hour. Races feature man-made ramps set up in strategic locations throughout each course, which allow the trucks to fly through the air nearly 25 feet off the ground and hundreds of feet down course.

The versatile off-road trucks race on virtually any surface presented, and have been featured with popular series such as INDYCAR and Australian Supercar, amongst other large events that expose off-road racing to the masses. SST will compete in two races over the course of the weekend at the Chevrolet Detroit Grand Prix presented by Lear. To learn more about SPEED Energy Stadium SUPER Trucks, visit http://stadiumsupertrucks.com and follow on Facebook at www.Facebook.com/StadiumSUPERTrucks and Twitter at www.Twitter.com/SSupertrucks.

The Trans Am Series presented by Pirelli (Trans Am)Trans Am Series Logo

The Trans Am Series presented by Pirelli, began igniting the passion of motorsports fans across the world in 1966. Today, Trans Am continues to honor its legacy, while challenging the status quo in racing through meaningful racing platforms and a driver-oriented focus.  Featuring world-renown GT cars in TA, the revitalization of the pony wars in TA2, and pure production racing in TA3 and TA4— Trans Am is truly America’s Road Racing Series.

Over the course of its 51-year history, Trans Am has featured road racing icons such as Bob Tullius, Peter Gregg, Wally Dallenbach, Jr., Dorsey Schroder, George Follmer, Mark Donohue, Sam Posey, Scott Sharp and Tommy Kendall. 2017 marks the return of the full Trans Am Championship to Belle Isle and will feature the TA and TA2 classes in full force.

Learn more at http://gotransam.com/