Grand Prix News

Back to News

Ricky Taylor and Max Angelelli Win Wet Grand Prix of Miami

Ricky Taylor and Max Angelelli Win Wet Grand Prix of Miami


Ricky Taylor and Max Angelelli won Sunday's rain-shortened Grand Prix of Miami, while Jeff Segal and

Emil Assentato won in GT to score the first victory for the new Ferrari 458 Italia Grand Am.

Taylor managed to dodge an incident between race leader Richard Westbrook and Enzo Potolicchio to

move from third to first on lap 28, and then led the final 25 of the 54 laps to give the team its 19th

Daytona Prototype victory.

Steady rain fell throughout the event. Conditions continued to deteriorate, leading race officials to halt

the event 52 minutes short of the scheduled distance (2 hours, 45 minutes).

It was the first victory of the season for Taylor and Angelelli in the No. 10 SunTrust Corvette DP. Scott

Pruett and Memo Rojas finished second in the No. 01 TELMEX BMW/Riley, followed by David Donohue

and Darren Law in the No. 5 Action Express Racing Corvette DP.

Segal took the GT lead on lap 41, shortly before what proved to be the final caution period of the race.

Dane Cameron and Wayne Nonnamaker took second in the No. 42 Team Sahlen's Mazda RX-8,

followed by Robin Liddell and Ronnie Bremer in the No. 57 Stevenson Auto Group Chevrolet Camaro.

The Stats

DP 1st: Ricky Taylor and Max Angelelli, No. 10 SunTrust Corvette DP

DP 2nd: Scott Pruett and Memo Rojas, No. 01 TELMEX BMW/Riley

DP 3rd: Darren Law and David Donohue, No. 5 Action Express Racing Corvette DP

GT 1st: Jeff Segal and Emil Assentato, No. 69 AIM Autosport Team FXDD Ferrari 458 Italia Grand Am

GT 2nd: Dane Cameron and Wayne Nonnamaker, No. 42 Mazda RX-8

GT 3rd: Robin Liddell and Ronnie Bremer, No. 57 Stevenson Auto Group Chevrolet Camaro

Margin of Victory: Under caution

Average Speed: 65.857 mph

Cautions: Three for 24 laps

The Points (Unofficial)

DP: Scott Pruett/Memo Rojas, 87; Enzo Potolicchio/Ryan Dalziel and Alex Popow/Lucas Luhr, 85;

Antonio Garcia/Richard Westbrook, 84; Ozz Negri/John Pew, 82.

GT: Jeff Segal/Emil Assentato, 90; Andy Lally/John Potter, 87; Leh Keen/Andrew Davis, 85; Robin

Liddell/Ronnie Bremer, 82; Steven Bertheau/Spencer Pumpelly, 81.